13
Nov
08

Disclaimer

I suppose it may weaken the integrity of the future posts to start this endeavor with a disclaimer, but for my own reasons, I feel I must.

Art is a funny thing.  It’s basically indefinable, but at its core, it is communication.  The artwork posted on this blog, with the exception of some images, will be my original work.  I use the word “my” loosely- meaning only that I painted it.  Through much internal wrestling, I have resigned to the fact that I will never be able (nor should I try) to control the interpretations of the pieces I paint.  Many of them are personal to me, but some I feel the need to paint- even if I don’t understand them.  This is where you come in.

And this is my disclaimer to you.  If this painting was meant for you to see but I somehow rendered it poorly, I apologize.  My hands can be clumsy at times.

 

I look forward to sharing the ones that are close to me, and hearing your responses to the ones I don’t quite understand.

2 Responses to “Disclaimer”


  1. 1 seth
    November 13, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Hey man,
    liking the looks of this endeavor. i’m excited to see how the re-rendering will play out in your life and the lives of everyone around us. i’m also looking forward to meeting you to talk about yer show at istanbul. Hope all is well with you and yours. talk to you soon.

  2. 2 mark f.
    November 13, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Let me also be among the first to congratulate you for doing this. You are indeed an artist, but more importantly, one who values community. This is a perfect venue for you Tony and I also look forward to see your work and the impact it has on those connected with you.

    proud of you,
    your old, stodgy professor
    mark


Leave a Reply

