13
Nov
08

Hyde

hydeRobert Louis Stevenson first published The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde in 1886.  You basically know the story by now- most people do.  The idea was that within one man was two personalities.  One was civil and refined- polite.  The other was a physical manifestation of the ID- sheer primal urge set loose with no boundary or remorse.

 The eerie thing about the many transformations that took place inside the story, was that the further the story went, the less we saw of Dr. Jekyll (the gentleman) and the more we saw of Mr. Hyde (the monster).  More disturbing still was that the more Mr. Hyde “came out”, the more developed he became.  Eventually, there was more of Mr. Hyde than there was Dr. Jekyll and the monster reigned.

2 Responses to “Hyde”


  1. November 13, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    As Paul said, there is a war in my members, or something like that. My flesh struggles against the spirit. I get it. I like it. Thanks!

  2. 2 G.
    November 18, 2008 at 1:54 am

    I love the concept behind this one.

    I think I felt myself falling into Hyde. Thank God I found the antidote.


Leave a Reply

