17
Nov
08

The House that Tony Built.

house(House)- previously known as “untitled”

I no longer own this piece. It sold at a sale this past summer.

More than any other of my pieces up for sale, this one got the most inquiries- and to be honest, this piece was one of the few that really prompted me to start this blog.  I still don’t get it.  I have no idea what the story is for this one.

When I paint something that I don’t understand, I usually stare at it for a while.  Typically, I decide to paint over it, but my wife said she liked this one, so I kept it.

Thank God it sold- otherwise, I’d still be staring at it waiting for it to talk to me.

Now to you- what the heck is this painting about?

5 Responses to “The House that Tony Built.”


  1. November 17, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    It’s a beautiful house, Tony. It evokes empathy and compassion. Maybe because it’s a house similar to the one we all have, seen without the rose-colored glasses. A very optimistic person, an overcomer, built this house, hoping it would get better and be better received after more effort was put into it. It is fragile, awkward, and pitiful. It can’t last, but it’s the best we can do, without help. We need a little help.

  2. 2 G.
    November 18, 2008 at 1:55 am

    It is about five and 1/2 minute hallways, spirals, and completion. This one appeals to me in a way that it would be really difficult for me to explain to you To. but I have a friend that will have to see this.

  3. 3 Tiff
    December 9, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    It’s the spirit of the Guys’ House!

  4. 4 Corrie
    October 1, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I purchased this painting, along with “the way the wind blows” at the Arts Picnic a few years ago. Something about both pieces, in particular this one, spoke so deep into my soul that I could not leave without them. Very cryptic, and sad, and haunting, and empty…like the way my soul longs to be filled with Jesus. I have gone through many times in my life where I felt His presence so strongly, and other times when I have felt so alone and like I couldn’t hear Him at all anymore. I struggle still to this day in my walk with God. I long for him so much but my selfish soul leads me away. I hope one day to find the peace to stay in His arms, instead of feeling the need to be in control and pull away. I am constantly learning, and struggling.

    I recently walked away from a physically and emoitionally abusive marriage and left the home I had worked my entire adult life to purchase and build for my family….and the only things I took when I left were my 2 children and these 2 paintings. Literally.

    Thanks Tony for sharing your gift. God has given you a gift which allows you to connect and touch the soul of a younger generation with feelings and imagages and emotion and words that we can relate to. There are a lot of prayers to God in you sketchbook that I have also cried out for…in different ways, but with the same longing. Thanks for sharing.

    • 5 rerendered
      October 3, 2010 at 3:06 pm

      Corrie,
      I’m so sorry that you experienced the that abuse you did. I hope that your sharing inspires others who understand the pain you’ve endured first hand.
      I am humbled at your post.

      Thank you for your words.
      T


Leave a Reply

