22
Nov
08

Fare Thee Well

Fare Thee Well

Okay, my buddies should appreciate this one (because it’s one they haven’t seen yet).  This is a new piece I painted it today.  It’s a story about a journey- growth and leaving home.  The caption on the bottom reads this way: “Let this be the place where stumbling blocks become stepping stones. Fare Thee Well”.  I don’t usually put text into my pieces, but for some reason, it felt right this time.

When did you leave home?  Is it still where you left it?

Fare Thee Well (detail)

Did you ever have one?

5 Responses to “Fare Thee Well”


  1. 1 seth
    November 24, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Very exciting stuff. it is very good to see you progress and be open to changes. i look forward to seeing how this piece informs the work that comes after. i really like the dimensions and also the colored area on the right almost feels like a diptych… Thanks for posting these images, it is great to be able to visit whenever! Keep it up.

  2. 2 namesake
    November 25, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Tony. I love it! I’ve never left home. Maybe I will someday.

    What’s up with the bird houses? You use those a lot.

  3. 3 rerendered
    November 25, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    The birdhouses symbolize solace- safety. Basically, all things home. They are all the things we strive for and also the places we retreat to when we are defeated or hopeless.

  4. December 15, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Hey, nice work, but it looks very Blaine Fontana. Does he know that your work is a big reflection on his own?

    I do like the blue rose though, very nice colours.

    Regards,
    Mike

    • 5 rerendered
      December 16, 2008 at 12:46 am

      Yes. Yes it does.
      Blaine is a huge influence of mine. I have definately attempted to mimic some of his techniques in my work. At first, I debated whether or not to do this- obviously I would never want to copy someone else’s work and call it mine. That’s why I very clearly and loudly proclaim how much of an impact his work has on mine. I have many influences, but his is one that resonates most with me.
      Erik Otto is another artist that uses a lot of the techniques that Blaine uses (he studied directly under him)-& in my pursuit to develop and solidify my own style, I-like Erik- seek to practice the techniques of those who have much knowledge and wisdom- to glean what I can. I am flattered that his influence is noticable in my work (I hope he would be too).
      I recently posted a link to my blog on his– thanking him for a sketch he did in my sketchbook about a year ago. I haven’t heard back, but I’d love to hear from him what he thinks about my artwork.


Leave a Reply

