14
Dec
08

Hope’s Cameo

keep-trying-mr-mccoy

Wednesdays are my long days.

I wake up at around 6am to quickly get ready before the girls rouse.  When they do, it’s a sprint to get them both fed and presentable for the day and its challenges.  We’re out the door at 7:30, and if I’m lucky, I can drop the girls off at daycare and be at my computer desk by 8:10.  From them till noon, I deal with the normal workday stuff –email, weekend planning, long-range stuff, blah blah blah.

I usually have a lunch appointment, but if I don’t, I continue with the blah blah blah.  At around 2, I have to prepare for rehearsal (it’s the only preparation the drama team has before the weekend’s Kid’s Konnection worship service)- so I have to make sure everything is in order.  Props get pulled, sound cues are entered into the computer, slide show prep is done, worship music is picked, and the roles are cast for the team, so that when they arrive, they know what they will be doing for the weekend.

Rehearsal starts at 5:30 pm, so I have to make sure I order the pizza by 4:45, so I can have enough time to pick it up before the team gets there. Usually during the weekend preparation, I enter into a very task-oriented, overly caffeinated, sort of routine.  During which, I lose track of time and end up just barely making it into rehearsal with the pizza at 5:30.

 

On this particular day, I was exiting Blackjack with pizza in hand, when I looked down just before unlocking my car door.  There, in pieces, were the remains of a large Monarch Butterfly. One of the wings was gone completely and the other fluttered in the breeze. 

 

I looked around me to see if anyone else had seen it there, but I was the only one.  This looks  silly as I type it, but I have to tell you, that for at least 5 whole seconds, I grieved for that butterfly.  I put the pizzas on the roof of my car, and slowly took my keys out.  I felt like I needed to pick it up and take it with me or something.  Bury it- I don’t know.  Seeing that dead beautiful thing there in that oil spot was the only thing from that day that I remember with clarity.

 

In the midst of your routine or defeat, have you ever been stopped by something you just had to experience? 

2 Responses to “Hope’s Cameo”


  1. 1 dave powell
    December 15, 2008 at 5:38 am

    the loss of life, any life, should bring us all to tears. no person is unredeemable, no life without worth. it’s this crazy, harsh environment in which we live that blurs that truth. on december 2, 2005 we gave birth to a stillborn kaden layne at just twenty weeks’ gestation. i couldn’t have imagined how quickly his little body would start to dry out. i held his body, the length of my hand and with discernable, uniquely powell features. he looked just like his older brother, keenan, as a matter of fact. in him was the evidence of creation, the mark of a potter’s hand. so how is it that we have come to live in a place that is hell-bent on destroying us? i mean, in this place a person either lives or goes immediately again to dust. thank God, and i mean praise God with all we are, that only he can determine the final resting place of the soul. and i pray that butterfly and all the others like it will join us there. to him who gives and who takes be the glory forever and ever!

  2. 2 rerendered
    December 16, 2008 at 5:10 am

    Thank You Dave. Forever and Ever Amen.


Leave a Reply

