20
Dec
08

Running.

The Watcher

I used to run a little a couple years back.  I never was really good at it.  There’s a certain mentality you have to have- something that keeps you going past the first, fifth- or twentieth mile.  I always say that I could only run that far, but only if there was a large dog chasing me.

 

My younger daughter (Faith) will steal a toy from her sister (Grace) and run like hell.  She’ll run and scream.  Then, just as Grace catches up, Faith will throw the toy in the other direction.  It’s awesome. Those are those times when it’s really hard not to crack a smile as a father.  I guess I don’t really want to reinforce that sort of thing… it’s pretty funny though.  Kid’s got a good arm.

 

“So, the cross is always ready and waits for you everywhere. You cannot escape it no matter where you run, for wherever you go you are burdened with yourself. Wherever you go, there you are.” —Thomas a Kempis, Imitation of Christ, ca. A.D. 1440

 

Ain’t that the truth?  Wherever you go, there you are…(you and that monkey on your back).  I googled this quote and found it dated back to 1440 (at least).  Turns out, people have been running from themselves since long before then too.  I tried in the past, but I’m just not fast enough.  They always catch me in the end.

 

 

 

Those monsters.  They can run pretty fast too.

2 Responses to “Running.”


  1. December 22, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Sounds like something King David said way back, something like “where can I go and you are not there, Lord?”

    Or, the Rich Mullins song that says, “nothing is beyond you, you fill eternity.” That’s big.

    I like the eagle, Tony. The red in the background is deep and powerful, a little disturbing, in a good way. There is weight to it, and the burden of himself, which he carries everywhere he goes, is visible in his eyes. It seems he is ok with that. Like, this is me, being what I’m made to be, you got a problem with that?”

  2. December 22, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    tony

    hey, my name is scott. i saw your post on blaine fontana’s site and i took a look at your stuff.
    very cool.
    and i read some of your thoughts about God and art… at least your art translating your thoughts.
    where do you live? are you in the seattle area?

    i love blaine as well. got to be his “apprentice” for three weeks… but that’s a long story.

    anywho, thought we might have a lot in common so i thought i’d say hi. my info is below if you want to check out my work.

    http://www.thetranspireproject.com

    cheers

    scott


Leave a Reply

