07
Jan
09

This Forward Journey

This Forward JourneyI’m curious what you guys think about this one.  When I finished it, “This Forward Journey” was what came to mind.  I don’t even have a solid story for it- I know there is one (somewhere)… Can you enlighten me?

4 Responses to “This Forward Journey”


  1. 1 dave powell
    January 7, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I like the sound this piece makes in my head. It makes me want to close my eyes, breathe deeply and just listen. — Becky (using Dave’s… too lazy to start my own)

  2. 2 dave powell
    January 8, 2009 at 3:56 am

    dave here using my own because i am not too lazy to start my own (as evidenced by the fact that i did, indeed, start my own).

    i like that the butterfly’s “forward journey” is taking him into the house rather than out. i guess i tend to view the journey as a way out, into the world. it makes me wonder if my journey has called me in and whether i have missed that opportunity. thanks, tony; i gotta look into this some more.

  3. 3 rerendered
    January 8, 2009 at 6:26 am

    You guys are beautiful. I love you both.

  4. 4 namesake
    January 8, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I think the butterfly is looking for his mommy. He just grew wings and he’s kind of freaking out because they’re so orange and orange reminds him of scary jack-o-lanterns on halloween. Since his mother is the light of his life, he thinks maybe that’s her twinkling up in the sky, but it’s really only stars. The poor little butterfly doesn’t understand that if he flies too high, he’ll die without oxygen, or he’ll get sucked into a jet engine or eaten by a bird or freeze or just die of old age. No, little butterfly! Don’t go! Don’t fly too high! The stars are not your mommy! Silly butterfly! Stay here and drink the nectar from the flowers and make the world pretty! Silly butterfly!


Leave a Reply

