23
Mar
09

Coming of Age part 3

It was drugs.  The friends he was with left him there.

 

There’s two ways I can look at this.  The first one I’m most comfortable with.  It’s the one that assures me that I’m arrogant for thinking that I played a role in Aaron’s life large enough to make a difference.  Really.  It was 14 years ago and how many people do you share life with in 14 years?  I know that there must have been people there in the end trying to prevent what happened.  I know this is true.

The second perspective demands acknowledgement that, yes, there was a brief moment in Aaron’s life when I had a chance.  There was a time when I could have done something.  But Jesus, you don’t think about that when you’re 14.  You can only reflect later.

 

When I think of Aaron, I’m back in his living room staring at the pink wetness around his father’s eyes.  I feel small because I know now that what his father was saying was all true.  The mix of love and fear in his voice hoped for any other outcome than the one he’d received.  He loved Aaron so much.  And in that one moment he was asking me to help him protect is beautiful son.

 

 

Sorry Mr. Levett.

 

 

His folks still live in that house and every time I drive by, I look to see if they’re there.  One day, I hope to have the strength to knock on their door to offer my condolences for the loss of their only son. 

Aarons Obituary

3 Responses to “Coming of Age part 3”


  1. 1 namesake
    March 26, 2009 at 10:01 am

    Tony,
    I’ve had time today to look more closely at this coming of age series. I feel the weight of it. Those kids in my life have long been a part of the past, but not distant enough that they, and the experiences we shared, can’t haunt me.

    Obviously, we’ve come of age, and we’ve left a wake of good and bad decisions, grace received and grace rejected, and wins and losses in our wake. Moreover, we have today’s choices to make, and grace to deal with, and outcomes to carry.

    The best I can do with the history, and the damage that’s been done, and the friends who’ve lost battles, and the missed opportunities to make a difference, is to redeem them by making them effective in my life today and tomorrow.

    Some days I can do that, other days I can’t. Praise God that his redemption of all of us and the wake of our experiences isn’t dependent upon my ability. Praise God for the daily opportunities to abide in the vine and contribute to what he’s producing with the manure turned fertilizer we’ve created. Praise God.

  2. November 3, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Tony,
    Today I read again your “Coming of Age” and was surprised to find that my past readings completely skipped part 1. Even without the main character being my son, this is a powerful story.

    This past month we reached year 5 of Aaron’s passing and though it’s gotten easier it never gets easy – you know what I mean.

    How fortunate we are to have been able to re-connect with you and I’m still amazed by your story and how much Aaron touched your life… all this written without our knowledge… out of sight and out of mind. I am thankful for the life lessons he taught all of us.

    You were strong to take a different path and blessed to be led in the direction you chose.

    Our house is always open to you and we hope to see you again soon and to meet your lovely wife.

    Stew & Leta


Leave a Reply

