04
Jun
09

Unison

Unison

I stare out my living room window a lot.  Sometimes I don’t even realize it until my wife shouts at me (lovingly) from the kitchen to see if I’m available to help with the 2 kids, dishes in the sink and dinner on the stove.  Really, I don’t mean to zone out like I do; there’s just something about looking out that window that is…right.

I find myself doing it when I’m with my friends too.  We’ll be talking about the deep spiritual truths of the universe at Starbucks and I’ll get caught in a stare out the window.  I’m not really looking at anything- at least I don’t think I am.  I just like to get lost in my thoughts.  If they’re good thoughts, I’ll stay in them, but if they paint an ugly picture, I’ll usually pull myself away and ask myself if there’s something productive I can do.   Somehow, whatever it is that pulls me to stare out the window has painUnison detailted itself into this painting.  I can’t tell you how or why, but in my opinion, that makes this piece one of the most beautiful pieces I’ve ever painted.

 

My favorite part is that the birds sing in unison.

3 Responses to “Unison”


  1. June 5, 2009 at 7:07 am

    singing/staring back the darkness? I feel your pain, Tony, or maybe it’s not pain, but I feel it. It is a beautiful painting, Tony. I’ve stoppped frequently this spring, outside my home early in the morning, including some mornings on the way to starbucks to listen to the birds sing. They are lovely, and though they seem dissonant, I’m convinced they are harmonious. Also, have I ever told you about my theory that birds are the embodiment of angels? Always singing praise, always present, always watching over us. If I were God, I would think birds would be a great way to hang out with and watch my people, and to make their world a bit brighter in a subtle sort of way.

  2. 2 seth
    June 8, 2009 at 11:57 am

    there is definitely some beautiful depth here… i like the dangling stars. If you have time this week i’ll be home on my own tuesday and wednesday night if you wanna paint a bit. Talk to you later.

  3. 3 namesake
    July 10, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Hello? Anybody here? Helloooooooo? Yoooohooooooooo? Anybody home? Come out, come out wherever you are!

    Oh dang it, Tony’s never here when I need him!


Leave a Reply

